Corner Shelves + Vintage Pieces

DSC_0504

I am so excited to share this project!

I recently came across this post about corner shelves on A Beautiful Mess and was immediately inspired.

I have always adored our main living space. It was one of the first spaces that we really made our own in the park house. Plus, it has lots of great details. However, along one wall we had these two IKEA bookcases.

DSC_0461

They had been perfect in the dining room of our townhouse, and they were fine in our living room. They were fine. But “fine” is not how I want to describe the space I live in. Our homes should be inspiring, calming, and make us feel good. (I was so uninspired by these I don’t even have a picture of the other one. #badblogger)

So, I started dreaming of corner shelves. I imagined how we could redesign this space sans IKEA products (sorry, IKEA. I swear, I really do like you). My original plan was corner shelves on one side of the pocket door, with a console table and a couple ottomans on the other side.  I didn’t plan on doing anything for quite some time, I was just dreaming.

A few weeks later, we were wandering through a little antique shop in Wisconsin, and came across this beautiful wooden trunk with ivory inlay. For an insanely good price. We didn’t know where we would put it, but we knew it belonged in our home. So we started rethinking the console table idea… and much like the time we found our office chairs at World Market, everything snowballed from there.  Six days later, we had corner shelves and a home for that inlay trunk!

DSC_0600

 

I just adore this change.

DSC_0563

 

We picked up the vintage school chair at FindFurnish (which I’m going to go ahead and say is the best spot for vintage furniture in Minneapolis) and my grandpa made the candlesticks.

DSC_0495

DSC_0566

These great anchor bookends are from Fried Bologna, a fabulous vendor that sells at FindFurnish.

DSC_0559 DSC_0557 DSC_0554 DSC_0547

 

All of the building supplies for this project are from Home Depot. It only took a few hours to build the bookshelves! Check out the original tutorial for more building specs. The only thing we did differently was using a bracket to attach the shelves in the corner instead of using pegs. Enjoy!

DSC_0551 DSC_0524

 

Leave a Reply

