Aaaaand We Are Back…

Oh man friends, it has been a long time. I have missed this, and because I truly have missed this, I think it’s time for some honesty.

I have spent the last year seriously entangled in an internal debate. Almost exactly a year ago, I was sitting on a beach with the man I had been married to for, at that point, about four days, when I suddenly announced, “I think I want to quit my job and go to school for interior design!”

Now it may be good information for you that my husband is very rational, while I am very impulsive. He’s so left brained, I’m so right brained. (Although to be fair, he would read this and say that there is no scientific proof of the whole right brain/left brain thing. See? So left brained.)

I’m sure in his head he was thinking “what the hell did I get myself in to!?”, but he just looked at me and said “I think that’s brilliant.” I love him an extra lot because of that moment.

So I looked at interior design programs. I searched for jobs could get me in the field. But nothing ever felt quite right. And so began this year long internal debate: do I stay in education or move into the world of design?

Enter Marie Forleo.

Well, her YouTube channel. I’m not that cool.

Marie promotes a multipassionate approach to life. It’s how she approaches her own (wildly successful) business, and it’s the concept that ended my year long internal debate.

I don’t have to choose. And that, my friends, is freaking awesome.

The world of education does not allow me to fulfill my desire to create. I tried to convince myself it could, but for me that’s just not the case. But it does give me something. I don’t quite know how to put it into words, but I love that world. And Marie’s wisdom gave me the courage to allow myself to pursue both of my loves.

So here’s the plan: I’m starting my masters degree at the University of Minnesota in Learning Technologies, while simultaneously building my portfolio for Park House Design.

And I’m back to the blog. Because this is where I need to be.

Leave a Reply

